KM on a dollar a day

Musing on knowledge management, aid and development with limited resources

KM on $365 a year (or one year of blogging)

with 6 comments

I hadn’t realized it, but I’ve been blogging now for just over a year.

I started blogging because I was having a lot of interesting conversations on Twitter – but wanted to expand on some of the ideas I came across in more detail than the medium allowed. I had been blogging internally for several years, but was curious to see how it would feel to share ideas externally and whether the reactions would be different. They were – people react to quite different things inside and outside an organization – inside an organization there are less people interested in ideas about knowledge management or development  – they are keener on practical tips and hints they can use in their work, as they should be – but sharing outside allowed a kind of “peer review” of my thoughts, and links to other ways of looking at an issue that I might not get by staying within the comfortable circle of my colleagues.

This post more or less explains why I blog. I still don’t know if blogging has any real impact, but it’s a good medium to help me clarify my thoughts and sometimes get independent feedback on them.

As is traditional, here is a brief recap of the year, with some statistics.

With organizational restructuring and career changes this summer I’ve not been blogging as frequently as I once was, and perhaps I was running out of things to say – but now I’m settling in to my new job I hope to write a bit more frequently, and have some new thoughts to share.
Many thanks to all of you who have read, pass on and commented on my blog over the past year. I don’t know if anything  I’ve written has been helpful to you, but I know that your support and feedback has been invaluable to me.

Written by Ian Thorpe

November 3, 2011 at 9:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! And always a pleasure to read you… I really love the cartoon!! I will translate it and paste it in my blog…;)

    Pablo

    November 3, 2011 at 11:44 am

  2. Happy Birthday! I say that as some who started blogging in 1996, before the term existed, and has been online since.

    Wayan Vota (@wayan_vota)

    November 3, 2011 at 12:01 pm

  3. Congrats Ian! I am fairly new to reading your blog but do enjoy it when i wander over. Well done! Who knows i might even take up blogging again!😀

    Laura M

    November 3, 2011 at 12:04 pm

  4. Congratulations on 1 year! Wow how time flies.

    Saundra

    November 4, 2011 at 10:26 am

  5. wordpress stats have a big gaping hole wrt rss readers, but its not quite as big as u think. if u click on the graph for any single post it’ll also give u figures for “syndicated views”. i’m pretty sure they’re mostly from rss readers. i only check this stats every once in a while on the basis that rss subscribers r probably fairly sticky, but do check a post ~1 week old, as i’ve noticed it can take folks a while to get around to viewing.

    MJ

    November 4, 2011 at 12:03 pm

  6. Congratulations, Ian. Keep at it. I am blogging much less than I used to, but I still find it a great outlet when I am inspired (and have the time / energy).

    Jack Vinson

    November 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm


Leave a Reply

